WSO: Return of the Symphony

he Worthing Symphony Orchestra are back!

The professional Orchestra of West Sussex celebrates its return to live performance with Beethoven’s joyous 4th Symphony, a brilliant work unjustly overshadowed by the 3rd and 5th, but sparkling with a vivacity and positivity that makes it a truly uplifting work. Beethoven was influenced by late Haydn symphonies in the 4th Symphony, so it is fitting that the Orchestra is also playing Haydn’s extraordinary 64th Symphony which makes a truly apt statement for the return of WSO. In the original parts, in the Esterhazy archive, Haydn wrote “Tempora mutantur, nos et mutamur in illis. Quomodo? Fit semper tempore peior homo” – “The times change, and we change with them. How? Time passing makes mankind worse.” This spirited 4 movement symphony contains a beautiful slow movement that plays with our expectations of the ending of phrases.

Mozart’s Eine kleine Nachtmusick is justly loved the world over for its poise, beautiful melodies and its use in such programmes as Radio 4’s “Brain of Britain”. Mozart’s wife, Constanze, was a cousin of Carl Maria von Weber, whose dazzling Concertino in Eb for clarinet and orchestra stars WSO’s principal Clarinettist Ian Scott. Ian is also the principal clarinet of the Royal Ballet and has made a number of acclaimed recordings of British clarinet concertos. Finally, the tip-toeing style of Johann Strauss’s Neue Pizzicato Polka matches our tentative steps back to the joy of live orchestral music.

Beethoven Symphony No. 4 in Bb major
Mozart Eine kleine Nachtmusik
Strauss II Neue Pizzicato Polka
Haydn Symphony No. 64 in A major ‘Tempora Mutantur’
Weber Clarinet Concertino in Eb major

Please Note The back half of the stalls, in the new seating plan, allows some spacing with only alternate rows available for sale. The Balcony and the front stalls are fully available.

WSS Members Pre-Sale Monday 6th Sept, 10am. Please note these are available on-line or phone only. Tel (01903) 206 206.
General Sale Monday 13 Sept, 10am.


Please Wait
Talking to the Box Office...